top of page


Grab the growing series right at the beginning and signed by the author David Green.

Purchase both redesigned books together or seperate in this signed author copy special!

Each order will come with a signed book or bookplate (depending on location), an exclusive signed bookmark!

Paperback: $19.99 + Shipping (EUR)

Hardcover: $33.99 + Shipping (EUR)

Orders within the UK - These will come with a signed paperback and signed bookmark in one package. 

International Orders - These will come as two packages. Package one will include paperback or hardcover and will be delivered as soon as possible. Package two will include a signed bookmark and a signed bookplate. 

Signed Author Copies
What can I help you with?

Thanks for contacting us!


Empire of Ruin Series
by David Green

Book One: In Solitude's Shadow

**Redesigned** Same great book all new look

Named #1 Book of 2021 - Magic Corner Review

The tides of fate are shifting.

The Banished have returned, and they have set their eyes on the walls of Solitude.

Zanna Alpenwood, a powerful mage, and two hundred aged and forgotten Sparkers are all that stand between the Banished and the nation of Haltveldt. With time running out and the world at stake, Zanna is forced to reach out to her estranged daughter, Calene, and set her on an impossible quest.

Calene quickly learns that enemies make unlikely allies as she teams up with both friend and foe on her journey to save her mother and Haltveldt. Forging their way over land and sea, uncovering dark plots and secret societies, Calene is forced to decide between her masters and her own conscience.

Will they arrive in time to save the fortress of Solitude from destruction? Only one thing is certain; Ruin is assured if Solitude falls.​

Map of Haltveldt

Welcome to Haltveldt
click on the map and take a tour!

Book Two: Path of War


The Banished have made their move, now Haltveldt answers back.

Reeling from the events at Solitude, Calene Alpenwood embarks on a journey to find meaning in all that she's seen, and discover the answers she so desperately seeks. Finding herself more alone than ever, Calene is trapped between doing what's right, and doing what needs to be done.

Meanwhile, Kade Besem continues his search for his son, Arlo, and the strange warrior-monk Tilo. His hunt takes him deep into Banished territory and into the jaws of danger.

Revelations are revealed, ancient secrets are uncovered and those who stand in the Empire's way can't hope to win when Haltveldt walks the Path of War.

Please be advised this book contains trigger warnings for self-harm, violence, death, mention of drug use, deadly magic, violence and heartbreak.
*Note the self-harm is in chapter 25 and can be skipped or skimmed without detriment to the storyline.


A note from the Author

A Note from the Author

I never thought I'd write fantasy. To be honest, I never thought I'd write at all, but that's a different story. 
Fantasy is my first reading love; from childhood days reading about King Arthur and the mystical, fantastical places in Cheshire through Alan Garner, to having my eyes opened and never closed by JRR Tolkien's The Hobbit, the fantasy genre was always something I found inspiration and comfort from. When I began my writing journey, I avoided fantasy.

Not for any nefarious reasons, you understand. No, because I thought what could I bring to it?
After The Hobbit, I never looked back. The Lord of the Rings and The Silmarillion followed, then I devoured David Edding's Belgariad, Terry Brook's Shannara. If I saw a hooded figure or a sword on a book cover, I bought it. Then came The Wheel of Time, Malazan Book of the Fallen, The First Law, Earthsea, Robin Hobb... my tastes and experience in this wonderful genre of ours continued to develop and leave me in awe of what these masters could achieve. I'd pour over maps, trawl fansites, delve into the communities, and dream those dreams that only fantasy could bring me.

So, I began to write. But fantasy... no, leave that to the masters. But, best laid plans and all that. With each project, my influences crept in. My love of fantasy moved the needle closer and closer until I completed my first dark fantasy short-story. It got published too, a big surprise to me and a sign that maybe, just maybe, I could give it a go.

In Solitude's Shadow, the first book in the Empire of Ruin series, is the end result. It's a book I'm immensely proud of, a book that contains the aspects of fantasy I love, and I hope I've brought something new to say. As you read this, I hope you recall all the wonderful aspects of fantasy, remember all the magnificent places our genre can transport us. But overall, I hope you enjoy the ride. 

Thanks for reading, David.

bottom of page